Dev GuideAPI Reference
Dev GuideAPI ReferenceUser GuideGitHubNuGetDev CommunityDoc feedbackLog In

Remove items

This topic describes how to delete, archive, or deactivate items in the Optimizely Configured Commerce SDK.

There are 3 ways to remove an item:

  • Delete. Deleting completely removes the item from the database and should only be done if the item was added erroneously or is a duplicate.
  • Archive. Archiving is a essentially a soft delete, that removes the item from the site, but does not delete it from the database. Products that are archived can quickly be restored.
  • Deactivate. Deactivating, similar to archiving, is a temporary method; however, it is tied to a specific date. This can be useful if the product is a promotional item that is only available for a limited time.

Because the process is slightly different for working with singular items versus multiple items, both processes are described below.

๐Ÿ“˜

Note

After performing any of the following actions, it is essential that the Product Search Index is rebuilt. To perform a Product Search Index rebuild, in the Primary Header, click More Options > Rebuild Product Search Index.

Manage Single Items

Delete an Item

  1. Go to the list where an item is to be deleted.
  2. Using the check box select the item to be deleted.
  3. In the Primary List Header, click Delete.
  4. In the confirmation window, click Delete.

Archive an Item

  1. Go to the list where an item is to be archived.
  2. Click the check box select the item to be deleted.
  3. In the Primary List Header, click Delete.
  4. In the confirmation window, click Archive.

Deactivate an Item

  1. Go to the list where an item is to be deactivated.
  2. Click Edit of the product to be deactivated.
  3. In the Details tab, in the Deactivate On field, enter a date and time.
  4. In the Primary List Header, click Save.

Manage Multiple Items

When Deactivating multiple items is necessary, a slightly different process is followed. However, as is shown below, deleting and archiving is essentially the same process, with the only difference being that all items need to be selected prior to clicking Delete.

Delete Multiple Items

  1. Go to the list where items are to be deleted.
  2. Using the check boxes, select the items to be deleted.
  3. In the Primary List Header, click Delete.
  4. In the confirmation window, click Delete .

Archive Multiple Items

  1. Go to the list where items are to be archived.

  2. Using the check boxes , select the items to be archived.

  3. In the Primary List Header, click Delete.

  4. In the confirmation window, click Archive .

Deactivate Multiple Items

The difference with deactivation is that when multiple items are selected and the Edit button is clicked, the selected items are brought forward as a group to be clicked through using the Save and Next button.

  1. Go to the list where items are to be deactivated.
  2. Using the check boxes , select the items to be deactivated.
  3. In the Primary List Header, click Edit.

    ๐Ÿ“˜

    Note

    For this process to work as described, you must not click one of the Edit buttons located next to each item.

  4. In the Details tab, in the Deactivate On field, enter a date and time.
  5. In the Primary Header, click the Save and Next.
  6. When finished, click the Done .

๐Ÿ“˜

Note

Clear, when displayed, serves as an undo, and undoes any changes made previous to the last save. It does not clear the form.