HomeGuides
Submit Documentation FeedbackJoin Developer CommunityLog In

Cart assignment setup

This topic describes how to set up cart assignments.

When setting up a website, one configuration option to consider is how carts are assigned. By default, carts are assigned to the User. It is also possible to assign the cart to the Bill To or the Ship To address. If configured to be by User, a different cart is used any time the User signs in with a different username/password combination. If by Bill To or Ship To, a new cart is used any time the user selects a different Bill To or Ship To address.

Consider the following scenarios:

Setting ValueScenarioResult
ByUserA user logs in as Diane with Company A as her customer. Diane then changes her customer to Company B, or changes her Ship To.The cart stays populated.
ByCustomer
(BIll To)
A user logs in as Diane with Company A as her customer. Diane then changes her customer to Company B.A new cart is created for Company B. When Diane changes back to Company A, the cart is still populated.
A user logs in as Diane with Company A as her customer with a Ship To of Location 1. Diane then changes her Ship To to Location 2.The cart stays populated.
ByShipToA user logs in as Diane with Company A as her customer. Diane then changes her customer to Company B.New cart is created.
A user logs in as Diane with Company A as her customer with a Ship To of Location 1. Diane then changes her Ship To to Location 2.New cart is created.

To configure this functionality, the Cart Provider Setting needs to be updated:

  1. Go to Admin Console > Administration > System > Settings.
  2. In the Search box, enter and then select Cart Provider.
  3. Select the desired option from the provided menu:
    • ByUser - the cart is specific to the user
    • ByCustomer (BillTo) - the cart is specific to the Bill To
    • ByShipTo - the cart is specific to the Ship To

πŸ“˜

Note

Changing this Setting to ByCustomer or ByShipTo should be done only when the Website Access Setting is set to anything but No Sign In Required. If not, the cart will be emptied any time a User logs into the website and selects a customer. The default value is ByUser, which is the most common setup.


Did this page help you?