Dev guideAPI Reference
Dev guideAPI ReferenceUser GuideGitHubNuGetDev CommunitySubmit a ticketLog In
GitHubNuGetDev CommunitySubmit a ticket

Collaborators

How to invite collaborators to your Optimizely Feature Experimentation project to let your team manage flags and rules.

Invite collaborators to your Optimizely Feature Experimentation project to let your team manage flags and experiments.

Collaborators

Collaborators are users that:

  • Log into the Optimizely application.
  • Utilizes an Optimizely Feature Experimentation API where authentication is required.
  • Somehow interact with an Optimizely interface by logging in or through an API.

On the other hand, there may be additional people involved in a project who are not considered collaborators in Optimizely Feature Experimentation. For example, a developer who maintains Optimizely code in their code base and does not use any Optimizely Feature Experimentation credentials is not considered a collaborator.

Invite collaborators

invite a collaborator
  1. Go to Settings > Collaborators.
  2. Click Invite a Collaborator.
  3. Enter the email addresses of your collaborator, select their permission levels, and select the language. You can also invite collaborators to multiple projects at once.
  4. (Optional) Click the Plus to add additional collaborators.
enter collaborator information

Permissions

Each role includes the permissions for the one before it.

  • Viewer – Read-only access and cannot modify flags or rules.
  • Editor
    • Non-production environments (like Development or Staging) – Can manage flags and rules.
    • Production environments (Primary environment) – Can manage flags and rules but cannot launch flags. When the flag is turned on by a Publisher or higher, an Editor can not turn the flag off, pause a rule, adjust traffic, change the variations, add or remove metrics, or change audiences.
    • See Manage environments for information.
  • Publisher – Can launch flag rules in production (primary) environments.
  • Project Owner and Administrator – Full permissions and can manage account settings.

📘

Note

To let users create multiple experiments per flag, you must grant the collaborator the flags_multiple_experiments permission. Multiple experiments per flag are only available for select plans.

ActionsViewerEditorPublisherProject OwnerAdministrator
Experiments (create, edit, start, pause, archive)NoYes *YesYesYes
Variations (create, edit, re-allocate traffic, pause, delete)NoYes *YesYesYes
Flags (create, edit, archive)NoYes *YesYesYes
Variable keys (create, edit, delete)NoYes *YesYesYes
Traffic allocation (edit)NoYes *YesYesYes
Events (create, edit, archive)NoYes *YesYesYes
Audiences (create, edit, archive)NoYesYesYesYes
Add specific users (add users, edit, delete)NoYes *YesYesYes
Attributes (create, edit, archive)NoYesYesYesYes
Collaborators (invite, edit, delete)NoNoNoYesYes
Environments (create, edit, archive)NoNoNoYesYes
Webhooks (create, delete)NoNoNoYesYes
Integrations (create, edit, delete)NoNoNoYesYes
Reset resultsNoNoYesYesYes
Mutual exclusion groups (create, edit, delete)NoYesYesYesYes

*** In production environments, Editors can create flags and rules but cannot launch a flag, pause a rule, adjust traffic, change the variations, add or remove metrics, or change audiences.

In non-production environments, Editors have full access to all aspects of flags and rules. You should use the Editor role to restrict access to production environments while allowing full access to development or staging environments.

Update a collaborator's permissions

To update a collaborator's role:

  1. Go to Settings > Collaborators.

  2. Click on a collaborator.

  3. Select the new role from the Role drop-down list.

    Update collaborator role

Remove collaborators

To remove a collaborator:

  1. Go to Settings > Collaborators.
  2. Click on a collaborator.
  3. Click Remove From Project or Remove From Account in the collaborator details
    1. Remove From Project – Removes the collaborator from the selected project.
    2. Remove From Account – Removes the collaborator's access to all projects.
Remove collaborator