HomeGuidesAPI Reference
Submit Documentation FeedbackJoin Developer CommunityOptimizely GitHubOptimizely NuGetLog In

Blacklist

This topic describes the concept and how to manage blacklists using the Optimizely Profile Store API.

Using Blacklists

You can register a visitor's email address in the blacklist to avoid processing events that come from this visitor and avoid storing visitor data.

Registering visitor email in the blacklist results in the following:

  • Incoming events are ignored and not processed where User.Email property contains a blacklisted email address.
  • You cannot update an existing profile with a blacklisted email address using Profile Store API.
  • You cannot create a new profile if the profile contains a blacklisted email address.
  • Existing data of blacklisted visitors are removed by schedule, usually every night:
    • A visitor profile is removed if it contains a blacklisted email address.
    • Events are removed if User.Email property contains blacklisted email address, or the device ID belongs to a profile that contains blacklisted email address.

📘

Note

Use blacklists for GDPR-compliance only.

Blacklist properties

The blacklist object contains a fixed set of property fields.

  • BlacklistId [string]. The unique identifier of the blacklist object. Generated by the API.
  • Email [string]. The blacklisted email address. Specified by the developer.
  • Scope [string]. Optional. The unique identifier of the scope of this blacklist object; specified by the developer.
    • The ID should start with a letter or a number.
    • The ID should contain up to 64 characters of letters, numbers, and underlines (_) only.
    • Do not use CAPITAL letters.
  • Example:
{
          "BlacklistId" : "aa95267c-2e27-4e82-9b5b-186c4f50c68b",
          "Email"       : "[email protected]",
          "Scope"       : "commercesite"
        }

Blacklist methods

GET

api/v1.0/blacklists/

  • To filter results using querystring parameters, see Filtering, paging, and sorting.
  • Returns HTTP 200 OK with all the blacklist items available in the environment.
  • Response body example:
{
          "total" : 2,
          "count" : 2,
          "items" : [ 
                      { 
                        "BlacklistId" : "62a2a514-a5f8-4e57-ae59-fe173167f8b7", 
                        "Email"       : "[email protected]", 
                        "Scope"       : "DefaultScope" 
                      }, 
                      { 
                        "BlacklistId" : "a9780654-80f8-41b5-a716-8da5950783bd", 
                        "Email"       : "[email protected]", 
                        "Scope"       : "bacb5c80-191e-433f-9fb2-b07c47b862af" 
                      } 
                    ] 
        }

POST

api/v1.0/blacklists/

  • Returns HTTP 201 CREATED with the blacklist ID, email, and scope in the response body.
  • Returns 400 BAD REQUEST if an incorrect post body was specified.
  • Post body example:
{ 
           "Email" : "[email protected]", 
           "Scope" : "DefaultScope" 
         }
  • Response body example:
{ 
          "BlacklistId" : "83b23656-247d-4bf1-805b-a86d83ce489d", 
          "Email"       : "[email protected]", 
          "Scope"       : "DefaultScope" 
        }

DELETE

api/v1.0/blacklists/{id}

  • Removes an existing blacklist item.
  • Returns:
    • HTTP 200 OK if the blacklist item was removed.
    • HTTP 404 NOT FOUND if the blacklist item does not exist.

DELETE

api/v1.0/blacklists/{id}/ClearUserData

  • Removes profile for the specified blacklist item.
  • Returns:
    • HTTP 200 OK if the data for the blacklist item was removed.
    • HTTP 404 NOT FOUND if a profile with the email of the specified blacklist item does not exist.
  • Response body example:

       "Successfully removed data for blacklist item 77a6edaf-b10f-4f67-bc2a-35222dcd78d1"
    

📘

Note

TheClearUserData API removes a profile in real-time. If you do not need the real-time deletion of the profile, you can skip calling the ClearUserData API method. However, both the profile and track events of a blacklisted customer are automatically deleted in 24 hours after you create a blacklist item.


Did this page help you?